ATTITUDE

HeaderAnother super busy weekend has reaped a few rewards. I’ve had a couple of projects that have been hanging over my head for a while so I decided to go ahead and get them over with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI pulled the car out of the garage to make room for my projects.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe hood had been bugging me ever since I painted it. The paint was light and splotchy on the sides and worse than that, the stripes on the back end didn’t quite line up with the stripes on the cowl. It was just driving me crazy every time I looked at it so I took the hood off and started sanding it down for a repaint. The underside of the trunk lid needed painting too so I thought I’d get it all done in one long day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYou’ve seen something like this before. I’m in the process of masking off the silver stripe here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere it is after color and three coats of clear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd here it is after wet sanding and polishing the clear. Everything lines up now and there are no light splotchy areas. I can rest easy now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is the underside of the trunk lid all painted and ready for weatherstripping and hardware.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter finishing the hood I got down to installing the gauges. I need to know if the engine is trying to cook itself. I think it may have some overheating problems. I haven’t run the engine long enough to check for overheating since I installed the gauges but the oil pressure is very good and the volts are good so that’s a relief.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh yeah. I also painted the air cleaner cover. It was black and crusty and I just couldn’t stand looking at any longer. As you can see I haven’t done anything else with the engine compartment yet. I plan on painting the valve covers to match the body color. Eventually when I yank the engine out I’ll do the whole compartment right.

After I finished up mounting the hood I thought it was time to give the front end a little attitude.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nothing adds a little attitude like hood locks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

