SOME ASSEMBLY REQUIRED

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe week started off with the usual wet sanding process. It went pretty well and most of the time I was in a good frame of mind for it. I actually finished a little ahead of schedule so I decided to paint the trunk on Thursday night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe trunk turned out OK. Eventually it will all be covered and carpeted anyway.

I spent Friday night getting stuff masked off and ready for the final painting. The prep work always takes way longer than I expect.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs usual the first step is getting down the base silver for the stripes. It was going splendedly until I dragged the hose through the wet paint on the roof. That set me back an additional half hour. It’s always something though. Just like life’s little problems that pop up and you have to figure out how to deal with them and get back on track.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter repairing the little mishap on the roof I turned my attention to laying out the stripes. I remembered to photograph it this time so I’ll take you through the simple process.

First find the total width of of the stripes. In this case 15″. Then find the center of the panel and mark it. Measure out the 15″ and mark that on the edge of the panel using your center mark to keep everything aligned. Next lay out the outer stripes with blue striping tape to the inside edge of the 15″ marks. Next lay down the 1/4″ green masking tape to the inside of the blue tape. The green tape is simply a spacing guide for the next masking step. Then lay down the blue tape exactly along the inside  of the green tape. Then pull the green tape off. And lastly, just mask off the center section with masking tape and plastic. What could be simpler? Oh yeah, make sure you lay down the tape straight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAbove you can see the finished masking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd this is the cowl all masked off. I’m kind of liking that blue and orange on silver. Maybe I’ll use that color scheme on my next project. By the way, how about that cowl design? Too bad they don’t make them like that anymore.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s hard to see but this is the car with the body color sprayed over the masked off stripes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere it is with the masking removed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And here’s another view of the unmasked stripes ready for the clear coat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAShiny at last! As you can see the clear went on without a hitch. I wish I could spray more often. I think with some consistent practice and a little professional guidance I could get good at this. As it is I’ll have to do some wet sanding and polishing to make this look really nice.

So it’s basically done – although there is some assembly required.

You’ll have to excuse me now. I have to go out in the garage and look at it again. I just can’t believe it’s finally shiny.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

