LOVE IT

HeaderImgIt’s been a very hot and busy week around the garage. Last week was very inspiring as I finally got to put some paint on the interior. So looking forward to putting down some body color I went out into the heat and got busy. I started with some of the boring stuff like sanding and spraying primer followed by more sanding and spraying. But that’s how it is when you’re getting close to paint. You just have to get in the right mind set and try to enjoy it as much as possible. It helps to think about what it will look like when I get to spray it with paint and clear.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve been working on changing the contour of the exhaust cut-out accent and I finally got it the way I wanted it. I cupped it out a bit beneath the top edge and it really made a huge difference in the look. I wasn’t too thrilled about it in the beginning but with these new alterations – I love it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe photo above shows it getting closer to a final sanding.

All of that sanding started getting to me so I really needed to find a creative diversion. I decided to go in the house and enjoy the air conditioning and play with my new 3M 1080 carbon fiber-look vinyl film. If you haven’t seen this stuff then you’re just plain missing out. It’s really neat stuff. The texture is an incredible copy of carbon fiber.  I plan on using it on a few of the interior parts for a real retro-mod look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI wrapped the steering column and turn signal lever in it and guess what?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI love it!

After finishing up with that little project I went back out in the garage and got back to sanding and priming, and sanding and priming, and bla, bla, bla. Many tedious hours later several of the smaller body panels were nearly prepped for the new pepper grey metallic paint. Very exciting since I had not even opened the paint can yet to see the color which will cover the body of the mustang.

I got up early this morning and did the final prep for paint. (It only took six more hours of sanding and cleaning.) Finally I got to shoot the new paint and clear. And guess what? You got it. I love it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe front and rear valances look sharp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe exhaust cut-outs turned out custom cool.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe nose piece is looking pretty dapper as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe quarter corners and headlight bezels are ready to go. What can I say, it was a good day of painting and the body color is fantastic. I love it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “LOVE IT

  1. Scott says:

    Very nice!

Leave a Reply

