I DON’T KNOW, MAN. I JUST WORK HERE

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe garage is a busy place these days. The hood has had way too many hours put into it and I’m sure one day it will look nice – at least for a little while.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI spent some time fabricating and bonding patches for all the holes I cut in the front of the hood. Child’s play. Routine. Didn’t even draw blood or set anything on fire.

Then I spent some time fabricating and welding pieces for the underside of the hood.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I spent more time fabricating and welding the underside of the hood.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s not pretty but it’s solid. It will have to do for a temporary hood.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThen I spent some time on the topside with the filler.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt finally warmed up enough to spray some epoxy primer. Now that it’s shiny I can see what a terrible mess it is. It’s going to require a lot of work to get it straight.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAbove you can see the other pieces that I was finally able to get into primer. They all look good from a distance but of course there are nicks and blemishes that have to be dealt with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI straightened up the grill and got it painted. It looks like new now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI spent a little time prepping and painting the front structure too. It looks OK. Most of it won’t be visible when the car is assembled.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFor the last two nights I’ve been working on the mounting for the drip rail trim. Of course I cut the drip rails off so now the stainless steel trim just fits right up against the body. It’s going to look nice and clean.

I also spent a lot of time working on general body work and I got all the trim holes on the rockers welded up. I decided not to put the rocker trim back on so I had to fill all the little holes. I want this mustang to be as clean and sleek as a coupe can be.

Leave a Reply

