PROBLEMS IN THE HOOD

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI know, I know. You’re saying, “Look at all those WORDS! I just want to look at pictures. Where’s the pictures?” No worries. There’s lots of pretty pictures, but you need to read the words first to get the story of the pictures. So read the words first.

I’m a simple guy. I like a simple plan. I had one that went something like this: Work real hard and get the hood in primer this weekend. Sounds like a nice simple plan, right? Of course, but it never goes like that. It just doesn’t.

It goes more like this: Work like crazy getting the hood stripped of paint on the top. Then work like crazy to get the paint stripped from the underside. Get out the cutting tools and cut away the substructure so you can repair the rusted areas. Start sandblasting the rusted areas and watch as the holes begin to appear. Stop sandblasting because it’s warping the metal and then slather Naval Jelly all over the rusted areas. Mess with the Naval Jelly for a couple of hours and then cut the larger rusted through areas out with the cutting disc. Grind, cut, wire brush, scrape and sand rust. Patch some holes, spray some primer and paint, and tack weld the substructure back on. Catch your pant leg on fire while welding. Come to the realization that jeans with fringy holes in the knee are not suitable for welding, and this hood is just toast. It’s too far gone for a proper restoration. It’s got rust in places that I can never get to and no matter how many hours I put into it, one day little rust bubbles are going to start appearing on the top side of the hood.

You might say, “Why not just buy a new hood?” And I would say, “Yes, that would be lovely, but my budget is busted right now.”

So it’s time for a new plan: Do the best I can with this hood and put it back together and get it ready for paint, knowing that I will replace it a few years down the road. I have an idea of a custom job I want to do on the hood and this hood just isn’t worth it. Eventually I’ll find a decent hood, take my time and do the custom work to it, paint it and put it on. I haven’t seen any scoops or anything that I really like on the 65 coupe so I think my custom design will suit me just fine one day.

Now the part you’re waiting for or have already skipped on to; the pictures of all the work for this temporary hood.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOn a happier note, I managed to get the nose pieces stripped without too much drama.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAt least these pieces are in decent shape and with some sanding they should be ready for primer. It has finally warmed up down here so maybe I can get some primer sprayed in the upcoming week. Right now the goal is to have everything in primer by the end of the month so I can spend April and May doing the final body work and have it ready to paint by June. I still have a few subtle custom things I need to do on the body so I’m hoping 2 months will be enough time. We’ll see.

 

 

 

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

