BITS AND PIECES

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThings are starting to come together now and I think I see a glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. Lately I’ve been spending my time in the garage working hard and fast. There are so many parts that need restoring so I’ve been trying to get some of those knocked out as well as the sheet metal body repair. The freakishly cold temperatures down here have slowed me down some but the work still continues.

A while back I took the mud flaps off from under the left fender and they were nasty and rusty of course. I tossed them in the Apple Cider Vinegar tub and let them soak for a week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAbove is the photo taken after I cleaned them up. They cleaned up great but what I need is the rubber extensions. The old ones were dry rotted so I need to figure out how to make some new ones. If anyone has any ideas let me know. I need a durable, flexible material that I can cut and rivet to the metal flaps.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI had to re-fit the mud flap because it was just a ridiculous fit from the factory with huge gaps. After some adjusting I was able to get a good snug fit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The flaps look real nice after the primer and paint.

The next little project was the heater box. It’s so old and warped and rusted I had my doubts about it being savable, but on my limited budget I needed to try.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs you can see the back half looked ready for the scrap pile.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe front side of the heater box wasn’t much better than the back. It was somewhat warped and the opening for the little door vent had a piece knocked out of it. In the photo above you can see where I have placed tape on the backside to get it ready for repair.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd here it is with the first application of filler. I like to use Duraglass for areas that need a lot of strength. This stuff is really tough. You have to sculpt it quickly while it’s soft, otherwise you’ll be tempted to use profanities and throw tools around the garage in your futile attempt to shape it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter a couple additional coats and some sculpting and sanding it’s ready for primer and paint. (My brother made that little knife in the background and I’ve been using it to sculpt body filler for the past 25 years or so. Thanks Bill.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWith new paint it looks not quite like new but better than before.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThese are the internal pieces I soaked for a couple of days. Again, not quite like new but better than before.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOh yeah. This is the before picture.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere are the pieces painted and mounted and ready for further assembly.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is the box with the fan mounted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere it is from the front. Now all it needs is…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAthe front. I just need to get a new heater core and make some rubber seals and do the final assembly.

I also restored a couple of other odds and ends.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe hand brake turned out pretty nice.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd this… this… I forget what this is, but it turned out nice too right? Oh yeah. It’s the fresh air vent control. Pretty high tech stuff.

The other ongoing project was the fender.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere it is in the first stage of stripping.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd here it is almost stripped.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Above are the pictures of the fender stripped and sand blasted and cut for patches.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHeres one of the patches clamped up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd this is what it looks like on the other side with the patches bonded in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is the top front patch with the first layer of filler.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is the lower section with the initial filler work finished.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThese are a couple of new tools I just purchased to help get this job done in a more timely manner. They work great. I should have purchased these tools many cars ago.

The next step was just to get everything sanded and ready for epoxy primer and with my new DA sander it was a breeze.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFinally, it’s in primer and looking whole again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASurprise! I did the front valance too. I told you I was working hard and fast. I’m sure I did some other things too that I didn’t have time to document but that’s OK. This is enough for one post. Besides, I’m tired and I need a little break now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , ,

One thought on “BITS AND PIECES

  1. Scott says:

    Regarding the rubber you need to replace on the mud guard. Do you have a photo of what it should look like?

Leave a Reply

