SOUNDS GOOD

A lot has been accomplished since the last post. After finishing up with the primer I did some body work on the quarter panels where they meet the roof. Still a lot more to do though. I put the trunk lid back on (Mostly just to get it out of the way). Then I single handedly installed the doors. I had read that installing the doors and getting them aligned properly is a real difficult task. I thought it went very smoothly and it really isn’t difficult at all to make the alignment adjustments. I was able to get everything lined up very nicely although I will have to go back and make some alterations to the bottom of the passenger door where I welded on the new bottom door skin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter the doors were installed and the trunk lid on it started to look like a car again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAt that point I decided to change the engine oil and start it up so I could move it out of the garage and turn it around. The engine started right up and sounded great so I stuck the steering wheel on, sat on the floor and backed it out of the garage. Tyler guided me as I turned it around and backed it into the garage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt looked nice sitting there in the garage looking like a car again. But that wouldn’t last for long.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd just like that parts started coming off. I’ll leave out all the ghastly details of rusted bolts and clips and so forth.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd more parts came off as the day wore on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAfter the fender was removed I drove it out of the garage and used the pressure washer to clean up some of the nastiness. There is going to be a ton of work to do to get the front end sparkling again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERATake a look at this for example.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe corner of this window is going to be a fun little project.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt’s not a good thing to be able to look into the interior from here. Looks like major metal work ahead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI took out the grinder and cut away some bad metal. As you can see there is plenty of fabrication work ahead. That area under the cowl is just a huge mess. It’s going to be a real challenge to get that rebuilt and water proofed. I think there may be an easier solution than the factory design on this one. The main thing is that there has to be a round opening for the heater and vent and it has to be protected from water coming in through the cowl.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere are a few of the parts I cut off that will need to be fabricated and reinstalled. I’m going to think on this a little while. It’s not going to be a concours restoration here. I’m thinking about how to keep it as simple and effective as possible.

2 thoughts on “SOUNDS GOOD

  1. Scott says:

    So, if you had known the extent of the rust, would you have still bought this car?

Leave a Reply

