PRIMED

I hope you all had a happy Thanksgiving. We had a rather pukey one – literally. Those stomach viruses are nasty little bugs. But that’s old news and not a lot of fun to talk about. So lets move on to more exciting things; like epoxy primer and bare metal. By the way, I have a new blog too. You can check it out here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the roof after being sanded and prepped for primer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bare metal just looks cool doesn’t it?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here it is after 2 coats of epoxy primer. I really like this epoxy primer. It goes on with a nice glossy finish so you can see all the imperfections that still need to be addressed. It fills pretty good too. If your body work is good and straight you can block sand it and go straight to paint and eliminate the high build primer step. I’m not sure if my bodywork will be straight enough to skip the high build primer though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a shot showing the corner where I welded in a patch. It looks good as new.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a view of the new and improved drip rail. As you can see it has been trimmed down quite a bit for a cleaner look. The factory stainless trim will fit right over it after I spend countless hours fabricating and welding on new clips. Guess I should have saved the old drip rail edges that I cut off. I could have cut small sections and welded them on for clips. Unfortunately at the time we weren’t planning on using the stainless trim. Bummer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a view looking along the drip rail towards the front.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After I finished priming the roof I undercoated the inside with a rubberized undercoating spray. The idea is to add a little sound deadening. I will glue an insulation to the roof before I install the headliner. I’m thinking about using some foam insulation in a few other areas for sound insulation as well. But that’s all got to wait until the car is painted.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I finished rebuilding the hinges and I shot those with primer as well. I’m really happy about these rebuilt hinges. Who knew it was so cheap and easy? Now if I can just get the doors hung properly with nice gaps all around.

 

Leave a Reply

