A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS

Almost looks like fine art doesn't it?

This area looks a little nicer than when we last saw it. I managed to get it in primer.

This was the project for Sunday. The end of the frame rail was rusted and needed to be re-done.

The first step was to make a cardboard template.

After the template was complete I cut out the rusty metal on the rail and then cut a patch out of sheet metal.

After bending the patch I clamped it up and made final adjustments before welding.

And here it is welded and ground and ready for finishing.

Finished and in primer.

After finishing the patch I decided to test fit the new trunk floor and gas tank. It's starting to look like progress.

7 thoughts on “A PICTURE IS WORTH A THOUSAND WORDS

  1. Scott says:

    Thanks for the photos. Although I don’t always leave comments, I do “check-up” on your progress on a regular basis.

    • I just posted photos this week because I’ve been so busy. Working on this car is like a second job but I really like doing all the metal work. The rust is a pain to deal with and that’s what costs a lot of time. All that grinding, scraping, cleaning, and treating really eat up the time. But that’s what you get when you buy a rustang. Thanks for following along. There are a few who like check in and see what I’m up to.

  2. Scott says:

    I checked with Steve a few weeks back to make sure he knew about your adventure and he had seen it as well.

    • An adventure it is indeed. It’s always nice to know I have some good friends out there checking to make sure I haven’t lit myself on fire or cut off any needed appendages. I had to start wearing a ball cap when grinding because my hair is so thin the sparks land right on the scalp.

  3. Scott says:

    What? No photos? Were you goofing off all week?

  4. Scott says:

    I expected some kind of an excuse like that. Been there!

Leave a Reply

