TAIL LIGHT TID BITS

Front side of tail light bucket as it came out of the car.

This is the backside covered with tar and some rust.

These are some nasty tail light buckets. It looks like the inside was sprayed the same blue as the car and the backside was red before it was covered with undercoating tar. Yuk. And under the blue paint on the front it looks like plenty of rust. But no worries. I have a couple of good friends to help with the clean up.

This is the backside after the Aircraft Stripper. Apparently I forgot to get a shot of the front.

Here it is after a few minutes with my friend Aircraft Stripper. They look much better but now you can see all the rust. Now it’s time to give them a bath.

This is the front after the acid bath.

This is the backside after the acid bath.

Here they are after soaking with my friend muriatic acid. If you don’t like messing with hazardous chemicals then maybe sand blasting or media blasting is for you. I kind of like the chemicals myself. They do a nice job and while they’re working you can sit down and have a chicken quesadilla.

The muriatic acid is from a swimming pool supply store. It’s only about $4 for a gallon. Just dilute it 50/50 with water and remember; always add acid to water, not water to acid. And wear gloves and don’t breathe the vapors and don’t run with scissors. Follow those simple rules and you’ll be OK as long as you don’t spill the stuff on yourself or your pets. Anyway, after a nice soothing acid bath and a wash down the buckets are ready to be coated with a primer sealer. I’m thinking these need a nice coat of silver paint too.

Tail light chrome trim

Here is the chrome trim and the lense. These are not in the best of shape but they will have to do for a while; like maybe until this recession ends. I’ll just clean them up as best as I can for now.

3 thoughts on “TAIL LIGHT TID BITS

  1. Scott says:

    You mentioned painting these silver. I’ve seen home kits where you can do your own electroplating with Zinc. I have never tried it yet but am considering it for a reflector assy inside one of my fog lights.

    • I’ve seen those kits too and I always anted to try it. It’s too late for these though. I already hit them with primer sealer. Besides, these are pitted pretty badly. We may relpace the whole assembly with new ones after the car is finished. They’re not very costly.

  2. Scott says:

    So, when you get a chance, show me a photo of this miracle solution you keep talking about. I’ve heard of paint stripper, but “airplane stripper”?? Never had to strip an airplane off of anything!!

Leave a Reply

